Angebote zu "Assorted" (79 Treffer)

Wedding Chimes, Assorted Crimes als eBook Downl...
9,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand
(9,49 € / in stock)

Wedding Chimes, Assorted Crimes: Christine Arness

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: 18.07.2019
Zum Angebot
Hide or Seek: End at the Beginning (Assorted De...
4,63 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand
(4,63 € / in stock)

Hide or Seek: End at the Beginning (Assorted Detective Mystery Series): Parker Freeman

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: 25.06.2019
Zum Angebot
My Life on the Line (eBook, ePUB)
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

´´This is a story about love and acceptance. It is a story about honesty and truth, integrity and hope. Ryan O´Callaghan could have kept it to himself, could have given the world a polished look. But instead he offers us all of himself in these pages. By doing so, he will change lives, save lives, and make the path ahead that much smoother for those who bravely follow in his footsteps.´´ -- Congressman Joe Kennedy III ´´Ryan O´Callaghan´s story is so poignant, so real, so human. I truly believe the publication of this book could be (and should be) a seminal moment for many athletes and other people in all walks of life. If an NFL player, cloistered in the manliness of his game, can come out of the closet and tell his story with such purpose, I hope that many others will follow his brave lead. This dramatic story of one athlete´s life might be a turning point for football.´´ -- Peter King , NFL analyst, NBC Sports ´´In this moving and powerful memoir, O´Callaghan details the fear and pain of a lifetime spent hiding one´s true self. It´s a suspenseful and cathartic look at a man on the edge, whose salvation could only come from admitting his truth and finding acceptance. This book will change the lives of young men and women struggling to come out, and the lives of those around them, who may not know how they´re contributing to a loved one´s pain and silence. O´Callaghan´s brave and honest story is another big step forward in the continued fight for acceptance of LGBTQ people in the world of sports.´´ -- Sarah Spain , ESPN Radio host ´´ My Life on the Line is an intense, heart-wrenching look at the reality of life in the NFL, told with gripping honesty and courage. Everyone, not just those interested in football, should read this book.´´ -- Chris Kluwe , former NFL player, author of Beautifully Unique Sparkleponies: On Myths, Morons, Free Speech, Football, and Assorted Absurdities Ryan O´Callaghan´s plan was always to play football and then, when his career was over, kill himself. Growing up in a politically conservative corner of California, the not-so-subtle messages he heard as a young man from his family and from TV and film routinely equated being gay with disease and death. Letting people in on the darkest secret he kept buried inside was not an option: better death with a secret than life as a gay man. As a kid, Ryan never envisioned just how far his football career would take him. He was recruited by the University of California, Berkeley, where he spent five seasons, playing alongside his friend Aaron Rodgers. Then it was on to the NFL for stints with the almost-undefeated New England Patriots and the often-defeated Kansas City Chiefs. Bubbling under the surface of Ryan´s entire NFL career was a collision course between his secret sexuality and his hidden drug use. When the league caught him smoking pot, he turned to NFL-sanctioned prescription painkillers that quickly sent his life into a tailspin. As injuries mounted and his daily intake of opioids reached a near-lethal level, he wrote his suicide note to his parents and plotted his death. Yet someone had been watching. A member of the Chiefs organization stepped in, recognizing the signs of drug addiction. Ryan reluctantly sought psychological help, and it was there that he revealed his lifelong secret for the very first time. Nearing the twilight of his career, Ryan faced the ultimate decision: end it all, or find out if his family and football friends could ever accept a gay man in their lives.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 16.07.2019
Zum Angebot
Nick Carter´s Advertisement (Nick Carter #807)N...
1,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

As published June 19, 1912, here is issue #807 of the famous Nick Carter Weekly. This ebook contains the complete Nick Carter novel NICK CARTER´S ADVERTISEMENT, plus assorted short features.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 19.07.2019
Zum Angebot
Ride Out the Storm (eBook, ePUB)
1,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

26 May, 1940 : The allies, faced with a shameful defeat, are trapped between the onslaught of the mighty German army and the tumult of the ocean´s waves. Those that do not die face capture and surrender to the Nazis. Nine days later more than a quarter of a million men have been rescued, returned safely to the shores of England, and saved by an assorted flotilla of barges, tugs, rowing boats and dinghies. This is the story of a mass exodus across the Channel, the miraculous story of Dunkirk. An awe-inspiring account of the evacuation which won the Allies the war, full to the brim with action and historical research, perfect for fans of Alexander Fullerton, David McDine and Alan Evans.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 16.07.2019
Zum Angebot
The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After (eBook, ePUB)
2,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Once upon a time, a historical romance author created a family . . . But not just any family. Eight brothers and sisters, assorted in-laws, sons and daughters, nieces and nephews (not to mention an overweight corgi) plus an irrepressible matriarch who´s a match for any of them . . . These are the Bridgertons: less a family than a force of nature. Through eight bestselling novels, readers laughed, cried, and fell in love. But they wanted more. And so the readers asked the author . . . What happens next? Does Simon ever read his father´s letters? Do Francesca and Michael become parents? Who would win in a Pall Mall grudge match? Does ´´The End´´ really have to be the end? Now, with The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After, Julia Quinn delivers eight sexy, funny, and heartwarming ´´2nd Epilogues´´ plus a bonus story about none other than the wise and witty matriarch Violet Bridgerton herself. So get to know the Bridgertons all over again—because Happily Ever After is a whole lot of fun.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 18.07.2019
Zum Angebot
The Peripheral (eBook, ePUB)
8,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Peripheral by William Gibson is a thrilling new novel about two intertwined futures, from the bestselling author of Neuromancer Flynne Fisher lives down a country road, in a rural near-future America where jobs are scarce, unless you count illegal drug manufacture, which she´s keen to avoid. Her brother Burton lives, or tries to, on money from the Veterans Association, in compensation for neurological damage suffered in a Marines elite unit. Flynne earns what she can by assembling product at the local 3D printshop. She used to make more as a combat scout in an online game, playing for a rich man, but she´s had to let the shooter games go. Wilf Netherton lives in London, seventy-some years later, on the far side of decades of slow-motion apocalypse. Things are pretty good now, for the haves , and there aren´t many have-nots left. Wilf, a high-powered publicist and celebrity-minder, fancies himself as a romantic misfit in a society where reaching into the past is just another hobby. Burton´s been moonlighting online, secretly working security in some game prototype, a virtual world that looks vaguely like London, but a lot weirder. He´s got his sister taking over shifts, promised her the game´s not a shooter. Still, the crime Flynne witnesses there is plenty bad. Flynne and Wilf are about to meet one another. Her world will be altered utterly, irrevocably, and Wilf´s, for all its decadence and power, will learn that some of these third-world types from the past can be badass. According to the Guardian , in terms of influence Gibson is ´probably the most important novelist of the past two decades´. The Peripheral, which marks a return to the futurism of Neuromancer , will be adored by Gibson readers and will also appeal to fans of Ender´s Game , Looper and Source Code. William Gibson´s first novel Neuromancer sold more than six million copies worldwide. Count Zero and Mona Lisa Overdrive completed his first trilogy. He has since written six further novels, moving gradually away from science fiction and futuristic work, instead writing about the strange contemporary world we inhabit. His most recent novels are Pattern Recognition, Spook Country and Zero History, his non-fiction collection, Distrust That Particular Flavor, compiles assorted writings and journalism from across his career .

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 16.07.2019
Zum Angebot
Beautifully Unique Sparkleponies: On Myths, Mor...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Hi. In your hands, right now, you hold the culmination of thousands of years of human intelligence, ingenuity, and brilliance. Now put your goddamn phone down and pay attention to my book. What is in my book, you ask? (I´m really glad you asked, by the way, because now I get to tell you.) ´´Time travel. Gay marriage. Sportsballing. Futuristic goggles that DO NOTHING. ´´Tiny brags from my publisher, stuff like: ´This is an uproarious, uncensored take on empathy, personal responsibility, and what it means to be human.´ ´´Excessive brags about myself: ´An extraordinarily clever, punishingly funny, sharp-tongued blogosphere star, NFL player, husband and father, one-time violin prodigy, voracious lifetime reader, obsessive gamer, and fearless champion of personal freedom.´ ´´Oh, and also an essay on the Pope´s Twitter account. Honestly, if that doesn´t draw you in, there´s no hope left for humanity. I also give my own funeral eulogy, in case you were hoping I´d go away and die now! ´´So please, join me in the glorious art of windmill tilting by reading this ´collection of rousing, uncensored personal essays, letters, and stories´ (I have no idea why that´s in quotes). ´´Join the herd of Beautifully Unique Sparkleponies. ´´(You know you want to.)´´ 1. Language: English. Narrator: Chris Kluwe. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/hach/001278/bk_hach_001278_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Beast: A Slightly Irreverent Tale About Cancer ...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

James Capuano´s BEAST delivers the author´s highly idiosyncratic, inspiring and informative take on his diagnosis of Stage IV colon cancer, and his long journey to remission. The book is sure to provide entertaining reassurance to others diagnosed with cancer in its various forms, as well as those who care about and for them. ´´Here´s something crazy for you,´´ writes Capuano. ´´There´s a kind of thrill that goes along with the uncertainty of a late stage diagnosis. Granted, my initial reaction wasn´t: ´Boy, this is kind of exciting.´ But as I wandered a little further down the road, it hit me: There´s something about being in the general vicinity of death that brings you back to life. It snaps you right out of complacency. Suddenly, every thought counts, every action. You can´t put off until tomorrow anymore. Things became crystal clear and my mind so sharp I could have slayed the Beast with just once glance.´´ In the end, his message is this: No matter how hopeless or dire a situation may seem, nothing is inevitable, and the will - no, the conviction - to fight counts for a hell of a lot. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Robert Brown. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/008695/bk_acx0_008695_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot