Angebote zu "Epub" (47608 Treffer)

The Feminism Book (eBook, ePUB)
€ 7.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Exploring more than 100 of the most important ideas, organizations, and events to have defined the feminist movement, this is an essential introduction to feminism. The latest entry in DK´s bestselling Big Ideas series, The Feminism Book is a complete study of feminism. Trace the subject from its origins, through the suffrage campaigns of the late 19th century, to recent developments such as the Everyday Sexism Project and the #MeToo movement. Examine the ideas that underpin feminist thought through crucial figures, from Simone de Beauvoir to Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and discover the wider social, cultural, and historical context of their impact. Find out who campaigned for birth control, when the term ´´intersectionality´´ was coined, and what ´´postfeminism´´ really means in this comprehensive book. Using the Big Ideas series´ trademark combination of authoritative, accessible text and bold graphics, the most significant concepts and theories have never been easier to understand. Includes inspirational quotations, eye-catching infographics, and clear flowcharts, The Feminism Book is a must-have for anyone with an interest in the subject.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 14, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Ecology Book (eBook, ePUB)
€ 7.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Explore ecology in this accessible introduction to how the natural world works and how we have started to understand the environment, ecosystems, and climate change. Using a bold, graphic-led approach, The Ecology Book explores and explains over 85 of the key ideas, movements, and acts that have defined ecology and ecological thought. The ebook has a simple chronological structure, with early chapters ranging from the ideas of classical thinkers through to attempts by Enlightenment thinkers to systematically order the natural world. Later chapters trace the evolution of modern thinking, from the ideas of Thomas Malthus, Henry Thoreau, and others, right the way through to the political and scientific developments of the modern era, including the birth of the environmental movement and the Paris Agreement. The ideal introduction to one of the most important subjects of our time.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 14, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Science Book (eBook, ePUB)
€ 14.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

From astronomy to psychology, this beautifully illustrated chronology presents the most important and groundbreaking milestones in science. Award-winning author Cliff Pickover (The Math Book, The Science Book, and The Medical Book) gathers into one fully illustrated volume the most important thinkers and ideas in the history of science. This unique omnibus edition includes 250 thoughtfully selected entries from all the science-based books in the Sterling Milestones series, including math, physics, medicine, biology, chemistry, engineering, psychology, and space. With a new introduction by Pickover explaining how this impressive collection was curated, The Science Book showcases humanity´s greatest achievements and provides readers with a sense of wonder at the diversity of scientific discovery.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 14, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Physics Book (eBook, ePUB)
€ 12.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Following the hugely successful The Science Book and The Math Book comes a richly illustrated chronology of physics, containing 250 short, entertaining, and thought-provoking entries. In addition to exploring such engaging topics as dark energy, parallel universes, the Doppler effect, the God particle, and Maxwell´s demon, the book´s timeline extends back billions of years to the hypothetical Big Bang and forward trillions of years to a time of ´´quantum resurrection.´´ Like the previous titles in this series, The Physics Book helps readers gain an understanding of major concepts without getting bogged down in complex details.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 14, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Summer Book (eBook, ePUB)
€ 5.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Summer Book ´TOVE JANSSON´ WITH A FOREWORD BY ESTHER FREUD An elderly artist and her six-year-old grand-daughter while away a summer together on a tiny island in the gulf of Finland. As the two learn to adjust to each other´s fears, whims and yearnings, a fierce yet understated love emerges - one that encompasses not only the summer inhabitants but the very island itself. Written in a clear, unsentimental style, full of brusque humour, and wisdom, The Summer Book is a profoundly life-affirming story. Tove Jansson captured much of her own life and spirit in the book, which was her favourite of her adult novels. This new edition, with a Foreword by Esther Freud, sees the return of a European literary gem - fresh, authentic and deeply humane. New and beautifully presented edition of a Scandinavian literary classic by Finland´s most translated author should appeal to all ages dissolving boundaries between fiction, biography and travel.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 14, 2019
Zum Angebot
Trouble on the Books (eBook, ePUB)
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Essie Lang?s series debut is perfect for fans of Lorna Barrett, Vicki Delany, and book lovers everywhere.Rookie bookstore owner Shelby Cox must hit the books to learn the ropes before she loses a killer in the stacks.Shelby Cox never intended to become a bookseller, so when the former editor returns to her hometown of Alexandria Bay, nestled in upstate New York?s breathtaking Thousand Islands region, to take over her aunt?s bookstore, she has no idea what to expect. To her amazement, she discovers that she now owns a fifty-percent share in Bayside Books, and will also run the store?s second location in the majestic castle on nearby Blye Island.But just as Shelby is gearing up for the start of the tourist season, the Castle volunteer coordinator is found murdered in the nearby Grotto. Castle caretaker Matthew Kessler is suspect number one, but Shelby thinks the killing may be connected to an earlier era, when violence among Prohibition-era smugglers was rampant in the region. As Shelby launches her own investigation, handsome and unnerving Special Agent Zack Griffin of the Coast Guard Investigative Services tries to quell her smuggling theory and keep her safe. But Shelby is determined to summon all her savvy as a book editor to plot the murder?and find the killer before he strikes again?in Trouble on the Books, Essie Lang?s clever and captivating series debut.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 14, 2019
Zum Angebot
Cookin´ the Books (eBook, ePUB)
€ 21.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Literary caterer Letitia ?Tish? Tarragon fights to save her reputation and catch a killer when a murder occurs during a fundraising dinner for the local library. Letitia ?Tish? Tarragon has just moved to Hobson Glen and opened a new restaurant and catering business, Cookin? the Books Cafe. So when her new landlord, Schulyer Thompson, recommends her to Binnie Broderick, the executive director of the local library, Tish is delighted. Binnie needs a last-minute caterer to create a literary inspired three-course dinner for the library?s annual fundraiser, one of the highlights of Hobson Glen?s social season. But there?s a problem: Binnie Broderick is a notoriously difficult woman to please. And when she chokes to death from arsenic poisoning after dousing her main course in hot sauce, Tish suddenly finds herself fighting to save her business ? and her reputation. It seems that very few of Hobson Glen?s residents escaped Binnie?s disapproval. But who would want her dead, and why?

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 14, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Conspiracy Book (eBook, ePUB)
€ 10.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Scholar of the occult and secret histories, John Michael Greer shines a light on 100 mysterious conspiracies and hidden societies throughout history, from Ancient Greece to the modern era. The Freemasons. The Satanic Hell-Fire Club. The Illuminati. This fascinating book delves into 100 mysterious conspiracies across time, ranging from secret societies that planned revolutions to underground groups with sometimes-nefarious agendas. Illustrated with intriguing photos and ephemera, it´s a must-read for anyone interested in learning more about the hidden forces that have shaped some of the most significant events in history.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 14, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Philosophy Book (eBook, ePUB)
€ 14.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Philosophy explores the deepest, most fundamental questions of reality?and this accessible and entertaining chronology presents 250 milestones of the most important theories, events, and seminal publications in the field over the last 3,500 years. The brief, engaging entries cover a range of topics and cultures, from the Hindu Vedas and Plato´s theory of forms to Ockham´s Razor, Pascal´s Wager, Hume´s A Treatise of Human Nature, existentialism, feminism, Philosophical Zombies, and the Triple Theory of Ethics. Beautifully illustrated and filled with unexpected insights, The Philosophy Book will appeal to a wide spectrum of readers.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 14, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Buried Book (eBook, ePUB)
€ 5.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Adventurers, explorers, kings, gods, and goddesses come to life in this riveting story of the first great epic--lost to the world for 2,000 years, and rediscovered in the nineteenth century Composed by a poet and priest in Middle Babylonia around 1200 bce, The Epic of Gilgamesh foreshadowed later stories that would become as fundamental as any in human history, The Odyssey and the Bible. But in 600 bce, the clay tablets that bore the story were lost--buried beneath ashes and ruins when the library of the wild king Ashurbanipal was sacked in a raid. The Buried Book begins with the rediscovery of the epic and its deciphering in 1872 by George Smith, a brilliant self-taught linguist who created a sensation when he discovered Gilgamesh among the thousands of tablets in the British Museum´s collection. From there the story goes backward in time, all the way to Gilgamesh himself. Damrosch reveals the story as a literary bridge between East and West: a document lost in Babylonia, discovered by an Iraqi, decoded by an Englishman, and appropriated in novels by both Philip Roth and Saddam Hussein. This is an illuminating, fast-paced tale of history as it was written, stolen, lost, and--after 2,000 years, countless battles, fevered digs, conspiracies, and revelations--finally found.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 14, 2019
Zum Angebot